Author Archives: cmaidment

100 High School Girls 2017 Winners

The 2016–2017 100 High School Girls scholarship committee met on March 23, 2017, to read essays submitted by 34 Kansas City high school student applicants. Although there were 37 fewer applicants than last year, the quality of the essays was outstanding. (We had two fewer schools to select from due to the closing of the Southwest Early College Campus and Van Horn moving to the Independence school district.)

The final three 100 High School Girls scholarship recipients are: Rapuluchukwu Okolo from Paseo Academy, Sylvia Joerke from Paseo Academy, and Rae Nia Hill from Northeast High School. This year we added a book scholarship in lieu of holding an awards event at Bruce R. Watkins Cultural Heritage Center. The winner of the book scholarship is Chebet Bucker from Lincoln Academy. Congratulations to all the applicants!

Many thanks to Paula Coyote Schaaf who arranged a meeting space at Penn Valley Community College for the committee to read and select our winners. Special thanks to committee members: Earlene Bentley, Kathleen Brandt, Mollie Caldwell, Riva Capellari, Cynthia Ginn, Stefanie Hatfield, Ellen Johnson, Dodie Murphy and Jane Vincent for their hard work and dedication.

2016 Wagy Awards & Holiday Luncheon Recap

A joyful time was had by all at the annual Wagy Awards & Holiday Luncheon at MissionHills Country Club on December 3. Guests convened for delicious cuisine, good conversation, and to hear from representatives from three wonderful organizations receiving Wagy grants and how they plan to use the funds to help local women and girls.

Congratulations to the 2016 Wagy Award recipients:

wagy2016• Journey to New Life received $4,000 to provide help for women returning to society from prison. (

• Rightfully Sewn received $4,000 to provide seamstress training for at-risk women.  (

Metropolitan Community College Foundation received $1,000 toward scholarships for disadvantaged women who are attending college to earn a Liscensed Practical Nursing and associated degrees. (

Thorpe Menn Literary Excellence Award 2016 Recap

tm2016Local authors and guests gathered at the Kansas City Central Library for the 38th Thorpe Menn Literary Excellence Award on October 1. The award was established in 1979 by AAUW-KC to honor Thorpe Menn, longtime book editor of The Kansas City Star, who supported all aspects of Kansas City’s cultural life, especially local authors and artists.

The 2016 Literary Excellence Award was presented to Patrick Dobson for his book Canoeing the Great Plains: A Missouri River Summer. The finalists were: Andrea Warren for The Boy Who Became Buffalo Bill: Growing Up Billy Cody in Bleeding Kansas and James P. Muehlberger, The 116: The True Story of Abraham Lincoln’s Lost Guard.

Special thanks to our keynote speaker Barbara Stuber, award-winning author and museum docent, Vivien Jennings and Roger Doeren of Rainy Day Books, and the Kansas City Public Library.

We are already making plans for the 39th event in October 2017. If you would like to nominate an author, go to the Thorpe Menn page under “Events” for guidelines and instructions. The deadline for nominations is May 1, 2017.


Marian McClellan, President
Linda Berube, President-Elect
Stephanie Holthaus, Past President
Sara Pedram, Co-Program Vice President
Judith McGonegle, Co-Program Vice President
Stefanie Hatfield, Membership Vice President
Wanda Perkins, Secretary
Nicky Stanke, Finance Officer and Communications Chair
Doretta Perna, Funds Chair
Kay Engler, Funds Co-Chair
Ellen Johnson, Finance Chair, 100 High School Girls/Thorpe Menn Co-Chair and Irene Wagy Fund Chair
Patti Jachowicz, College/University Chair, Re-Entry Chair and Women’s Center Liaison
Carrie Maidment, Newsletter/Website Designer and Editor, Thorpe Menn Co-Chair
Janice McIntyre, AAUW-KCKCC Liaison
Teri Wichman, 100 High School Girls Co-Chair
Riva Capellari, Public Policy Co-Chair
Carol Cowles, Public Policy Co-Chair