Mission & History

Basic CMYKOur mission is to advance equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy and research.

Founded by prominent Kansas City women in 1893, the Kansas City Branch of AAUW has mirrored society’s changes. Among our long-standing projects is the Hundred High School Girls, started in 1931, which recognizes and provides scholarships to senior girls graduating from local Kansas City schools; the Thorpe Menn Literary Excellence Award, for almost four centuries, awards and recognizes authors in the Kansas City area; the Wagy grants, which has for more than 15 years, awarded grants to local non-profit organizations for their programs for women and girls; and the Reentry Woman of the Year, started in 1987, provides scholarships to women who are returning to college after a five-year absence.  The Kansas City Branch is frequently recognized by AAUW National for their giving and participation.