100 High School Girls

100HSgirlsSince 1931, the AAUW-KC Branch has sponsored a program to encourage girls in Kansas City, Missouri high schools to reach their full potential and attend college. The program has evolved into the inspiring annual spring reception known as “100 High School Girls.” This reception is remembered by many of the past honorees and AAUW members for the inspiration it provides. AAUW-KC members have heard from members in other states at national conventions and through other connections who remembered AAUW-KC because they had been one of Kansas City’s “100 High School Girls.” Honorees are senior high school girls from KCMO public high schools who show strong leadership skills, academic excellence and active community involvement. Students are selected by teachers and counselors and are asked to write an essay to submit to AAUW-KC and a committee of AAUW members will select two winners of $1,000 scholarships.


The 2016 100 High School Girls awards event will be held on April 17.

Sunday at 2 p.m. at the Bruce R. Watkins Cultural Heritage Center, Kansas City.

For more information, please contact Earline Bentley at 816-756-5608 or ebentley1130@gmail.com.


100 High School Girls 2016 Recap

The 100 High School Girls reception and scholarship presentation on Sunday afternoon, April 17, was once again a successful celebration for the young women of Kansas City, MO public high schools.

100 High School Girls 2015 Recap

The annual 100 High School Girls celebration was held on Sunday, April 19, 2015 at the Bruce R. Watkins Cultural Heritage Center in Kansas City. This event sponsored by the AAUW-KC branch honored metro area senior girls who participated in an essay competition. Their submissions focused on academic goals, leadership experience, and volunteer work.

In attendance, along with the high school young ladies, were family members and friends, school representatives, and AAUW members.

These young women were recognized for their accomplishments and received certificates. The following girls received $1,000 scholarships to the college or university in which they are enrolled: Mi Dohn, East High School; Hannah Wilczewski, Southwest Early College Campus; and Shereese Brown, Ruskin High School.

The guest speaker was Dr. Marjorie Williams, a former superintendent of the Hickman Mills School District and a well-known educator – she gave an inspirational presentation about opportunities for young women as they attempt to reach their educational and life goals.

100 High School Girls 2014 Recap

On April 6, 2014 the annual scholarship award program honored 100 young ladies from area high schools on their academic success. The event was held at the Bruce R. Watkins Cultural Heritage Center in Kansas City. Three young ladies were awarded scholarships in recognition of their community service, leadership skills and academic success: Dixie Robinson from Northeast High School plans to attend Avila University to study Advertising and Public Relations; Candace Cunningham from Center High School plans to attend the University of Missouri Columbia to study Occupational Therapy; and Cynthia Odu from Lincoln College Preparatory Academy plans to attend the Massachusetts Institute of Technology to study Computer Science.

Thank you to our guest speaker Barbara (Barb) Shelley, a columnist for The Kansas City Star and advocate for the education of girls and women. 

100 High School Girls 2013 Recap

At the April 7, 2013 annual event, Keishana Washington from Van Horn High School, Quynh Nguyen from East, and Saira Quezada from Northeast were awarded scholarships for their academic work, leadership and community service.

Our special guest speaker Missouri State Senator Yvonne Wilson presented an uplifting and inspiring message to all in attendance. AAUW-KC member Alice Jenkins provided entertainment with her impeccable piano playing.

100 High School Girls 2012 Recap

Sunday afternoon, April 15, 2012, was once again a successful celebration for the young women of Kansas City, MO public high schools. Scholarships for $1,000 each were presented to Ngan Nguyen from Southwest Early College Campus and Megan Eisentrager from Ruskin High School (first photo.) All of the nominated girls where honored at the event with a rose and certificate as their family and friends proudly watched.

Arzie Umali, Assistant Director of the UMKC Women’s Center, gave an inspirational talk and Alice Jenkins, Jazz Pianist, entertained during the reception. Both are AAUW-KCMO members.