Equal Pay Day is March 31st!

This year, as in years past, the Kansas City Branch will take part in Equal Pay Day activities with the Department of Labor Women’s Bureau and UMKC Career Services,  sponsored by the UMKC Women’s Center.  The Miller Nichols Learning Center lobby is reserved for Tuesday, March 31, 11am.–1pm. AAUW-KC will share an Information Table in the lobby with representatives from the Department of Labor Women’s Bureau and Career Services and will provide information on the gender pay gap. Stephanie Holthaus invites interested branch members to join her in disseminating brochures and engaging students about this hugely important issue. Contact: stephanieholthaus2@gmail.com

Dr. Brenda Bethman, Director of the UMKC Women’s Center and Arzie Umali, Sr. Assistant Director, received funding to purchase and present AAUW’s Start Smart program and they plan to receive training in order to host the Salary Negotiation Workshop to students later this semester.

In 2018, AAUW announced our bold pledge to train 10 million women in salary negotiation by 2022. We will not wait for policies and employer culture alone to determine when we reach parity. We are working to empower women nation-wide with skills to effectively negotiate their salary and benefits and become agents of change in their communities.

Attend our free, online salary negotiation workshop or attend a workshop in your community, bring AAUW salary negotiation training to your community, or share our programs and become and advocate for equal pay.

ACCEPTING APPLICATIONS! 100 High School Girls 2020 Scholarships

Since 1931, the Kansas City Branch of the American Association of University Women has honored outstanding female high school seniors. College scholarships up to one thousand dollars ($1,000) are awarded annually. To be eligible for the scholarship you must submit an application and essay, and be a current student of one of the following schools: KCMO Public School District: Central Academy of Excellence, East High School, Northeast High School, Southeast High School, Paseo Academy of the Fine and Performing Arts, and Lincoln College Prep Academy; and the following area schools: Ruskin (Hickman Mills C-1), Center High School (District #58), and Grandview (Grandview, MO District C4).

Click here to download the 100 High School Girls 2020 Application and additional information.

Your application and essay must be submitted to your school counselor or emailed to aauw100highschoolgirls@gmail.com by March 15, 2020 to qualify.

Reentry Woman of the Year 2020 Awards Brunch – Apr. 18

Saturday, April 18, 9:30 am–Noon, Trezo Mare in Briarcliff

This annual event taking place at Trezo Mare Restaurant (Briarcliff Village, 4105 N. Mulberry Dr., Kansas City, MO) is hosted by AAUW-KC Northland and presented by the InterBranch Council (IBC). Scholarships are awarded to women who best exemplify the courage, effort and perseverance to return to the classroom after an absence of five or more years. Come and hear their inspiring stories!

Reservations are $25. Mail check (payable to AAUW-KC Northland) by April 9 to: Sharon Posson, 205 NW 82nd Street, Kansas City, MO 64118. Additional donations for award recipients’ brunch costs and Reentry scholarships are welcome! For more details, contact Sharon at 816-787-5097 or ceposson@aol.com

2019 Wagy Awards Recap:

Each year the Kansas City Branch, through its Nettie Irene Van Der Veer Wagy Fund, awards grants to local social service and cultural organizations for projects that support AAUW’s mission. In 2019, 20 organizations submitted letters of interest. All were worthy of support. The following received grants at the annual awards and holiday luncheon on December 6:

Angel Eyes Career Development Program helps single mothers attain higher education. The Wagy grant will be used for the purchase of an Employment Readiness Online Assessment Tool.

Girl Scouts – Camp Fury, a high-adventure career exploration camp with local Fire and Police Departments with the aim of giving girls an immersing experience in public service careers where women are under-represented. Wagy funds will cover two scholarships and supplies for the program.

KC Care Clinic – The grant supports supplies for colonoscopies and endometrial biopsies for 60 low-income and uninsured women with abnormal Pap tests.

MADI – Provides job-training skills and employment assistance in the commercial garment market while producing over 1,000 pairs of undergarments each year that are donated to area shelters. The Wagy grant will purchase commercial sewing machines and a cutting table.

UMKC Foundation – The grant pays for four girls to attend the 2020 Madam President Camp. The Camp teaches girls ages 10–13 leadership, public speaking, negotiation, campaigning, and other skills for effective civic political participation.

All who attended enjoyed a delicious lunch at Café Trio and hearing the stories of the amazing work done by these grant recipients. If you would like to make a donation for next year’s Wagy grants, please make your check payable to AAUW Wagy Fund/Amer01, and mail to: GKCCF (Greater Kansas City Community Foundation), Attn: Kelli Doyle, 1055 Broadway Blvd., Suite 130, Kansas City, MO 64105.