42nd Thorpe Menn Award Winners

The 2020 Thorpe Menn Literary Excellence Award event was held online on October 4th. This year’s award was presented to Andrea Warren for Enemy Child: The Story of Norman Mineta, a Boy Imprisoned in a Japanese American Internment Camp During World War II. First and second runner-ups, respectively, Shawn Pavey for his book of poetry Survival Tips for the Pending Apocalypse and Gary DeRigne for Angie’s War. Congratulations to these winning authors and all of the local authors who were nominated in 2020.

Special thanks to our keynote speaker Robert F. Sommer, author and 2019 Thorpe Menn award winner, storyteller Anita K. Parran, president of KK Charles Communications and Thorpe Menn reading and event committee members.

If you would like to nominate an author for the 2021 award, please go to the “Events” tab for guidelines and instructions. The deadline for nominations is May 1, 2021.



President – Joanie Shores

President Elect – Luna Mukherjee

Membership Chairs – Hortense Burr, Pat Taylor

Secretary – Corinne Mahaffey

Finance Officer – Linda Berube


Communications Chair – Stefanie Hatfield

Funds Chair – Ellen Johnson

Public Policy Chairs – Patty Cahill, Lee Rathbone-McCuane


College/University Chair, Re-Entry and Women’s Center Liaison – Stephanie Holthaus

Thorpe Menn Chairs – Corinne Mahaffey, Carrie Maidment, Jane McClain, Anita Parran

Wagy Fund Chair – Ellen Johnson


2020 100 High School Girls Scholarships Awarded

Annually since 1931, AAUW-KC has awarded outstanding female high school seniors college scholarships. In 2020, we awarded three 100 High School Girls scholarships to: Vy Duong, a senior at Lincoln College Preparatory Academy; Jadyn Brooks, senior at Grandview High School; and Michyla Westbrook, senior at East High School. Each received a $1,000 education scholarship. We were pleased to receive excellent applications from students at these schools along with Central Academy of Excellence and Paseo Academy of Fine and Performing Arts.

Many thanks to Kim Flynn, Stefanie Hatfield and Patty Cahill who served on the reading/selection committee. This project would not happen without the support of these dedicated AAUW volunteers!