Thorpe Menn Literary Excellence Award – Recap of 2017

Local authors and guests gathered at the Kansas City Central Library for the Thorpe Menn Literary Excellence Award luncheon on October 7. The award was established in 1979 by AAUW-KC to honor Thorpe Menn, a longtime book editor at The Kansas City Star. He supported all aspects of Kansas City’s cultural life, especially local authors and artists.

The 2017 Thorpe Menn award was presented to Loring Leifer for her book, Angels with Angles: The Rogue Nuns behind Operation Breakthrough. The finalists were A.J. Culey for her book series titled Tyrabbisaurus Rex and Erich Wurster for The Coaster.

Special thanks to our keynote speaker Patrick Dobson, honored writer, scholar and poet; the attentive staff at the Kansas City Library; and all of our table hosts.

We are already making plans for our 40th annual event set for October 5, 2018. If you would like to nominate an author, click here for guidelines and instructions. The deadline for nominations is May 1, 2018.